Hall of Fame

Created in 2003 by then manager Julian Carrera, the WIFC Hall of Fame exists to honour those who’ve made a significant contribution to the club during their time. Each year at the awards evening, the current management team will select another person to enter the Hall of Fame.

The first entrants were Lee Evans and Simon Devon in 2003, and they were joined by Pete Fincham, leading appearance maker Julian Carrera and Martin Owen in 2004. To celebrate the on-line Hall of Fame’s creation in 2004, two more WIFC legends were selected to join, the club’s founder Aidy Spender and former manager Ian Lay.

In 2005, legendary goalkeeper Dave Perahia was inducted, and he was followed by the youngest entrant thus far, club record scorer Rob Sterry, in 2006. The following year saw Daz Sear and Simon Neill added to the hall of fame, while original squad members Jon Parry and Paul Labbett were honoured at the 2007 Testimonial Dinner.

In 2008, Dave Messenger and Scott Mathers were added for their outstanding contributions to arguably the club’s most successful period and in 2009, current fixtures supremo Matt Wells was honoured. Following a break in 2010, the Hall of Fame welcomed former joint manager Paul Watt to it’s ranks in 2011.

Full profiles of all of the Hall of Famers will be added to this site in the coming weeks.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *