Preview – Dulwich Hamlet v WIFC

WIFC take on the fast improving Dulwich Hamlet in a friendly match at Parmiters School this Saturday, with a 10.30 Kick-off. A recent influx of young players has seen the South London side make huge strides, so the game will be a good test as Joint Managers Chris Davis and Dave Messenger start to consider their options for Worldnet.

Action from the last meeting between WIFC and Dulwich earlier this year

Games with Dulwich have traditionally been one-sides affairs, and WIFC’s record win was 15-2 in an IFA Cup tie played in November 2009, while on another visit in Feb 2008 Rob Sterry broke his own club record with 7 goals in the match. But the game at Belair Park earlier this season broke the mould, and Dulwich recorded their first win after overcoming a 2-0 deficit, thanks in main to a hat-trick from Ricky Laing.

Tomorrow’s game also marks the last fixture organized by current WIFC fixtures secretary, Matt Wells. Due to the nature of the IFA, which sees clubs organize their own matches, a good fixtures secretary is vital and having taken on the role in 2009 Wells has excelled, reaching the 20 game mark every year while building and continuing excellent relationships with his counterparts across the league.

Matt Wells in action at West Ham last season

Messenger was quick to praise his successor in the role. “Without Wellsy, it’s fair to say we would not be among the leading lights of the IFA today. The job is not easy, as I can testify, but we’ve been spoilt these last few years. Wellsy has taken us to a new level and the excellent relationships with the likes of Ipswich, West Ham and Dagenham are down to him. I’d like to thank him on behalf of the whole club for his efforts, and look forward to him still turning out for the club for years to come”

Davis and Messenger have named a 17 man squad for the game, which is –
Richard Walker, Tom Beck, Aidy Spender, Jamie Parkins, Matt Ainsley, Alex Prentice, Paul Whittenbury, Rob Sterry, Ed Sterry, Dave Soloway, Matt Wells, Dan Willis, Stuart Holdham, Stuart Nicholls, Ben Pegram, Warren Flanagan, Joel Moody.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *