WIFC voted IFA team of the year for a record 4th time

WIFC are celebrating once again, having been named the IFA Team of the Year for the fourth time in the 15 year history of the club.

The award, which is voted for by the 80-odd clubs across the UK who make up the Internet Football Association, is given to the side who have displayed the best team spirit and are considered the most sporting side and most welcoming hosts. The IFA league is made up of teams who travel around the country to take on fellow supporters’ sides, usually between clubs whose first teams are competing that afternoon, and WIFC have been leading lights in the IFA since their inception.

Former manager Scott Mathers receiving the Team of the Year shield in 2008, from IFA supremo John Boocock

WIFC joint manager Dave Messenger said: “I am absolutely delighted and chuffed to bits, especially as it is great recognition for Matt Wells, who stepped down as fixture secretary this summer after three years in the role. The fact it is voted for by our peers across the IFA is not only a fitting tribute to Matt’s excellent work, it’s also a huge credit to every player who has pulled on the yellow shirt this season – to a man, they are great ambassadors for Watford FC and it’s fans”

The 2008 squad with the shield

WIFC, who were also beaten IFA London Cup finalists this season, will have a first team and vets side taking part in Worldnet this weekend. The annual event, which takes place in Leeds each year, is seen as the pinnacle of the IFA and Messenger is hoping that the Team of the Year crown will be their lucky omen. “Last time we won team of the year, we went on to reach the Worldnet final for the only time in our history. Hopefully we can go one better this year, and bring two pieces of silverware back down the M1” added Messenger.

The 2005 squad with the shield

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *