Myall-O-Meter hits all time high

A fine hat-trick from Andy Myall was the highlight of the day for WIFC, as they secured a third successive win and a first victory against Peterborough with a 5-2 win at the Bushfield Leisure centre on Saturday. With a patched-up squad of just 13, WIFC knew they would have to work hard on a long, wide 4G pitch, and they did just that to propel themselves into the IFA league top ten for the first time since 2009.

The visitors got off to a bright start, with Joel Moody and debutant Liam McGarry linking well. And it was the new name on the teamsheet who opened the scoring when he left a defender for dead and finished expertly. Moody was to the fore when WIFC added a second soon after, as his run and cross was touched on by McGarry into Myall’s path, and his fierce low strike opened his account for the day.

The home side started to exert some pressure but WIFC’s defence, which included veteran left-back Paul Labbett in his first IFA league game since 2003 and a new centre half partnership between Ally Hill and Stuart Holdham, held firm. With Moody and McGarry looking lively on the break, WIFC always looked dangerous, but it was Richard Murphy who provided the next goal when he was felled inside the area. Richard Walker stepped up to atone for his IFA Cup shootout miss against Millwall with a confident penalty, his first WIFC goal since a 2004 strike at Crewe.

The second half would be more hard work for the visitors as manager Chris Davis continued to rotate his two subs, but WIFC were able to extend the lead to 4 when another Moody run took him into a goalscoring position, but last season’s leading scorer and player of the season unselfishly passed to the even better placed Myall, who finished calmly.

The home side finally got on the scoresheet midway through the second half, but with space opening up all across the pitch, Moody broke past his full back once more and his low cross was converted by Myall for a well deserved hat-trick to crown his man of the match display. There was still time for the home side to score from the spot after a foul by the otherwise excellent Hill.

Jeremy Hinds; Dave Morren, Ally Hill, Stuart Holdham, Paul Labbett; Richard Murphy, Rob Stone, Richard Walker, Andy Myall; Joel Moody; Liam McGarry. Subs Bernard Bradshaw, Dave Messenger.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *